Managing Users and User Groups

NOTE: Only members of the Administrators User Group and those defined in the Manage Members for Role: User Admin screen can view, add, or edit users and user groups.

Users are people who administer the website, create content, or publish content. Without users, the website would be blank. In Ektron, you can add, edit, and delete users to and from the application through the Settings folder in the Workarea.

Every Ektron user belongs to a User Group. When you create a user, the user is added to the Everyone group by default. User groups are used when creating permissions and a workflowa core element of Ektron, workflow lets you set up a sequence of approvers who control the publication of content to your website. for content folders. User groups can be departments in your company (Human Resources, Sales, Engineering) or indicate a user’s role (Publishers, Administrators, Editors, and so on).

All user and user group information is accessible from the Workarea.

To access the user folder in Ektron, navigate to Workarea > Settings > Users. The View Users screen appears. From this screen, you can add, edit, and delete users.

To access the user group folder in Ektron, navigate to Workarea > Settings > User Groups. The View User Groups screen appears. From this screen, you can add, edit, and delete user groups.

IMPORTANT: This chapter only applies to systems that do not use Active Directory Integration. If your system uses the Active Directory Integration Feature, see Using Active Directory with Ektron to learn about user management functions. If your system uses LDAPLightweight Directory Access Protocol; permits access to distributed information. Authentication, see Using LDAP with Ektron.