CMS for administrators > Access rights > Managing users and user groups

Managing users and user groups

This topic is intended for administrators and developers with administration access rights in Episerver.

For easier and safer maintenance, you should base access rights on user groups rather than individual users.

You can administer user credentials in the following ways:

  • Manage users and user groups from the CMS administration view.
  • Manage users and user groups in Windows.
  • Develop a customized role and membership provider.

The first option is most often used by smaller organizations with few editors, whereas the other options apply to large organizations with many editors. You can combine these options also.

Users and groups created in the Episerver CMS admin view are only available from admin view; they are not accessible from Windows. You cannot add users created in Windows to groups created in Episerver. See the technical documentation on Episerver World for information about working with membership and role providers.

Creating and deleting groups in CMS

When you select Administer Groups in admin view, all groups are shown irrespective of the provider used on the website. The group provider is shown next to the group name.

  • Click Add to create a user group, enter a name, and save your changes.
  • Click Delete to delete a user group.

    Deleting a user group cannot be undone. You can delete user groups created from CMS only.

You cannot change the name of an existing group. Instead, delete the group and add a new one.

Creating, editing and deleting users

To add a user in the CMS, do the following:

  1. On the Admin tab, select Create User.
  2. For the account to work, specify a username, password and email address and set the account to Active.
  3. Select the user groups the user should belong to.
  4. Under the Display Options tab, you can specify a default language for the user interface (optional) and touch support.
  5. Save the settings.

To edit user settings, search for the user under Search User/Group and then click a user name. You can modify properties only for users that are created via self-registration or via Create User in CMS.

To delete a user, search for the user under Search User/Group, click a user name to edit the settings, and click Delete. You cannot undo a deletion of a user.

Displaying members of a user group

Use the Search User/Group option to display groups, and click the desired group name to see members.

back to top




Episerver User Guide 16-4 | Released: 2016-05-27 | © Episerver 2016 | Send feedback to us