CMS for editors > Publishing and managing versions

Publishing and managing versions

Episerver has sophisticated support for advanced management of content creation and publishing involving multiple editors. The draft concept is central, ensuring that work in progress is never externally exposed until it is actively published. The publishing options you see depend on the content status and your access rights. Available actions, content status and notifications are indicated in the status bar at the top.

Publishing involves steps from creating a draft to publishing the final version, as well as managing versions. The steps apply to different types of content such as pages, blocks and media, or products if you have Episerver Commerce installed on your website.

Publishing actions

When creating or updating content, there are a number of actions you can perform to create drafts, undo changes, set content ready for review, publish directly or schedule publishing at a later stage etc.

Publishing multiple content items

The projects gadget allows you to preview and publish multiple content items at the same time, for instance, a landing page, blocks and products (if you have Commerce installed) that are part of a campaign. See also the new The project feature, which is available.

Managing versions

If you need to backtrack and use an older version of a page or if you are managing multiple language versions, there are a number of tasks that can be performed from the version list. You can perform these actions by using the More options button found at the bottom of the version list.

You need to add the version gadget to the left or right panel to see the version list.

Working with shared content

As soon as someone starts editing content, it is marked as currently being edited notifying other editors in order to avoid version conflicts.

Setting expiration of content

Normally web content never expire but you can set pages and blocks to expire at a certain time in the future or immediately. Expired content is not displayed on the website but it remains in Episerver CMS. You can remove the expiration from the content to make it appear on the website again.

Setting an expiration time is done in the All Properties editing view by selecting Tools > Manage Expiration and Archiving. Select Now if you want expiration to apply immediately.

Archiving of expired content

Episerver has a built-in archiving feature where pages with a set stop publish time are automatically moved to a defined archive branch when the time has passed. This is useful if you, for instance, have news pages in a listing where you want to remove old news from the listing, but still keep the pages. Archiving of expired content is done in the Manage Expiration and Archiving dialog box by selecting the page branch where you want to move the expired page.

back to top




Episerver User Guide update 15-5 | Released: 2015-11-16 | Copyright © Episerver AB | Send feedback to us