CMS > CMS for editors > Working with versions

Episerver CMS iconWorking with versions

Episerver has sophisticated support for advanced management of content creation and publishing involving multiple editors. The draft concept is central, ensuring that work-in-progress is never externally exposed until it is actively published. The publishing options you see depend on the content status and your access rights. Available actions, content status and notifications are indicated in the status bar at the top.

Publishing involves steps from creating a draft to publishing the final version, and managing versions. The steps apply to different types of content such as pages, blocks and media, or products if you have Episerver Commerce installed on your website.

For information on how you can control the publishing process by using content approvals, project or access rights, see Controlling the publishing process.

Publishing actions

When you create or update content, you can perform a number of actions to create drafts, undo changes, set content ready for review, publish directly or schedule publishing at a later stage, and so on.

Managing versions

If you need to backtrack and use an older version of a page or if you are managing multiple language versions, there are a number of tasks you can perform from the version list by using the More options button found at the bottom of the version list. Click the column headers to sort the version list according to language, status and more.

You need to add the versions gadget to the left or right panel to see the version list.

Unpublishing content

Unpublished content in Episerver CMS is content that has not yet been published or content that you for some reason do not want publicly visible on the website.

There is no Unpublishing option in the user interface; instead, you have the following options to hide published content from being publicly visible on your website:

  • Set the content item to expired if you want to keep it for reference or future use.
  • Remove the 'Everyone' access rights to it.
  • Delete the content item if you do not want to keep it.

Setting expiration of content

Normally, web content never expires, but you can set pages and blocks to expire at a certain time in the future or immediately. Expired content is not displayed on the website but remains in Episerver CMS. You can remove the expiration from the content to make it appear on the website again.

Setting an expiration time is done in the All Properties editing view by selecting Tools > Manage Expiration and Archiving. Select Now if you want expiration to apply immediately.

Archiving of expired content

Episerver has a built-in archiving feature where pages with a set stop publish time are automatically moved to a defined archive branch when the time has passed. For example, this is useful if you have news pages in a listing where you want to remove old news from the listing, but still keep the pages. Archiving expired content occurs in the Manage Expiration and Archiving dialog box by selecting the page branch to which you want to move the expired page.

Working with shared content

As soon as you start to edit content, the content is marked as currently being edited notifying other editors to avoid version conflicts.

back to top Episerver image




Help topics   Need help?   FAQs   Glossary   Site map   Videos

Episerver User Guide 17-2 | Released: 2017-03-13 | © Episerver 2017 | Send feedback to us