CMS for editors > Assets > Folders

Folders

Folders in the assets pane in Episerver are used for organizing content, such as media files (for instance, images, videos and documents), as well as blocks. You can have folders with content that can be shared between all websites in a multi-site scenario, or you can have folders with content that will only be available for a specific website, or a page or block.

Note that media and blocks share the same folder structure. This means that if you create a folder under Media, the same folder is also created under Blocks.

Depending on your implementation, you may have the following predefined folders:

  • For All Sites. Content here is available for all websites in a multi-site installation.
  • For This Site. Content here is available only for a specific website in a multi-site installation.
  • For This Page or For This Block. Local folder where content is available only for a specific page or block, and cannot be accessed from other pages or blocks. Useful, for instance, if you have images for a specific purpose which must not be used elsewhere.

If you have saved an image in the local folder and then copy the page content, including the image, and paste it into another page, you may still see the image in the page. However, this is due to browser caching, the image is not copied to the new page's local folder and the link is in reality broken.

Local folders are not available for catalog content in Episerver Commerce.

Creating, renaming and moving folders

  • To create a new folder, select the desired folder in the structure under which you want to add a new folder. Select New Folder in the context menu, and provide a name for the folder.
  • Select Rename in the context menu for the folder you want to rename, and enter a new name.
  • Use drag-and-drop or Cut/Paste to move folders in the structure.

Renaming or moving folders does not cause any broken content links on your website, but might break incoming links from other websites or indexing from search engines.

Deleting folders

Select the folder you want to delete, and select Move to Trash in the context menu. The folder with its content will be moved to Trash, from where it can be restored. Local folders cannot be deleted.

Since blocks and media files share the same folder structure, removing a folder affects both the block and the media structure. You are notified about existing references to the content, before removing it.

Setting access rights for folders

The predefined global folder is available to everyone by default. Local folders inherit the access rights from the content (page or block) to which they are associated. It is possible to define access rights for specific folders in a structure. Setting access rights for folders is done from the admin view in Episerver, in the same way as for pages in the page tree structure.

Managing folders in multiple languages

Folders are not language specific, and the folder structure for blocks and media will look the same regardless of the language selected under the Sites tab in the navigation pane. This means that you cannot create language versions for folders, but you can, for instance, use a language code when naming them.

back to top




Episerver User Guide 16-8 | Released: 2016-11-14 | © Episerver 2016 | Send feedback to us