Large organizations with geographically distributed editors often benefit from process support when creating, reviewing, publishing and translating content. Episerver is built for a distributed way of working, with various options for managing content creation and publishing depending on the size and setup of organizations.
The following features can be used to control the publishing process:
- Content must be approved before it can be published
Content approvals is a way to make sure that content is reviewed and approved before it is published. When an editor has finished working on a content item, the item is set to Ready for Review. One or more appointed reviewers must then approve the content item before it can be published. The reviewers are defined by an administrator in an approval sequence.
- Publish multiple related content items at the same time
The projects feature and the projects gadget let you preview and publish multiple content items at the same time, such as a landing page, blocks and products (if you have Commerce installed) that are part of a campaign.
- Restrict publishing access rights
Access rights let you control what editors can do where in the content structure. A typical example is to restrict the right to publish content to editor groups. This means that the publish option is not available for editors. Instead, they use the “ready to publish” status option. You can then view the content under Tasks.
- Use the Tasks pane
The simplest way to monitor content creation activities is to use tasks. The Tasks option lists changes to content filtered by content status.
You can use the following content statuses for monitoring content creation:
Content status Description Draft One or more draft versions of the content exists. Marked as being edited Someone is currently working on the content. Ready to publish The content was marked as ready for reviewing and publishing. Rejected The content was set as Ready to publish and was rejected after review. You can edit and update content in status Rejected before you set it to Ready to publish again.
Clicking on a content item in the filtered task list displays the item in the main area. Use the versions gadget to see the version history for that particular content item. If you have publishing access rights, you can decide upon further publishing actions from the versions gadget.
If you are using the A/B testing feature (still in Beta), you see a number of tasks related to this feature in the Tasks list.